Getting Ready for Couve Couture


1960's dress with lots of possibilities. Before picture.

1960’s dress with lots of possibilities. Before picture.

Beigeblond and Most Everything Vintage have come together to create Couve Couture, Spring Fashion Show, sponsored by Gravitate featuring local, Seth Aaron, Project Runway winner season 7 showcasing his fabulous new Spring clothing line and Cathy Rae, winner of our ‘Up-and-comer’ local designer contest from our Fall Fashion Show showcasing her classic and beautiful 60’s clothing. Sweet Spot Skirt’s edgy sportswear will be strutting their locally made athletic fashions along with Most Everything, showcasing re-claimed vintage fashion from head to toe with accessory designs by Alisa Ann, AND…. two, local SW Washington up-and-comer designers who will get to walk their fashions down the runway. Designer auditions will be held in March and the winners will be announced shortly after through on-line marketing and through The Columbian. Every aspect of this show is about Vancouver and SW Washington from designers to models, hair stylists to make-up artists, food, artists, videographers, photographers and sponsors. Couve Couture is truly a visual celebration of the extraordinary talent from this area.

Couve Couture Fall Fashion Show was a great success, selling out of tickets (250) before posters went up around town. Our Spring Fashion Show will be held at the Gravitate Building (formerly Koplans), 1012 Washington St. Downtown Vancouver. This location will allow for us to have more designers, models, catered food and 600+ attendees in the first level and an upper location for a VIP after-show event giving participants the opportunity to meet the designers, see the clothes and accessories up-close with a potential to purchase, and to ‘live’ in the moment of the event with music, locally created finger foods and a little bubbly for toasting.

General Admission tickets (all ages) $25 pre-sale, $30 at the door.
(100) VIP tickets $50 (pre-sale only, must be over 21) include the fashion show and VIP access to the after party.
Tickets will go on sale March 15th and will be available at Most Everything, Beigeblond (if paying with a credit card) and Sweet Spot Skirts. We will only have 100 VIP tickets available, so, if interested, get them right away.

So what are we doing for the show? Not only are we co-coordinators of the show, but, I am re-creating vintage pieces; clothes and accessories for 12 models. I had so much fun creating the animal masks for our last Couve Couture Fashion Show (October 2012) but for this one, I really wanted to do something amazing, pushing myself to new creative possibilities. My challenge: take vintage clothing that is unwearable and bring it back to life…. almost garbage made runway worthy. I have 4 dresses in the process and one complete. Fun Story: I had a wonderful lady named Doris who read the article in The Columbian about our upcoming show. I am thrilled that she has shared with me her dress worn in 1950 in Redmond Oregon  for the Miss Oregon Pageant. This dress is stunning! Needs some love but I know exactly what I am going to do to it. If THIS dress could talk. I am just honored to bring it back to life and send it down the runway with Doris in the audience to admire.

I have some pictures of one of the dresses. It is definitely maude 60’s and the style isn’t very fashionable right now. The zipper was broken and had to be replaced and the bottom of the skirt was shredded. A perfect candidate for re-creation! I removed the sleeves keeping the cuffs as an accessory to the dress, put in a new zipper (not an easy task), shortened the length by 17 inches and added an underskirt to give it some volume. Now, a great spring dress that could be worn day or night! I am so blessed to have a mother who taught me to sew and parents who gave me a sewing machine 25 years ago. The best gift they gave me was the belief that I could do anything I set my heart on. I am eternally grateful!

Most of the clothing and accessories will be available for sale after the show at the VIP Party and at our shop the following day. As I complete more dresses for the fashion show, I will post some teaser pictures. Enjoy!

Categories: Getting readyTags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 comments

  1. Did I miss it?? Everything was here but the date! I am in CA for 2 weeks with our daughter Kelley so not reading the paper. Let me know please! Do you have any interest in the pale pink/lavender evening bag I showed you months ago?

    Such a talented friend I have!

    Sharon Richardson letsmakeup@q.com

    Sent from my iPad

    • Well Hello Ms Sharon! It has been forever since I have seen you. I thought I put in the date for the show… Saturday April 13th. Tickets go on sale March 15th. I would definitely be interested in the bag:) Looking forward to seeing you soon, Alisa

Leave a Reply

