A little Elf magic for Christmas


crazy CHR hat 5

With the Santacon event (Downtown Vancouver get-together for Santa’s, elf’s and anything Christmas) coming up, I thought it would be fun to make some traditional and not so traditional Santa and Elf hats. Our apartment has become the North Pole and my floor looks like a snow and scrap storm just came in! This project has been so much fun and customers have enjoyed trying them on. I have been sewing and glueing mornings and evenings and will even do some stitching while down at the shop. I have made about 18 with 2 more custom crazy hats to go.

Every hat is a little different. They all have character which comes from using vintage sweaters, dresses, pants, wool shirts and trimming. I grew up with my mother being an amazing seamstress. One of her many talents. She sewed most of my clothes up into High School. More times than not, there would be a pin sewn somewhere within the garment which would later be painfully discovered as you sat down or moved a certain way. I had to laugh at myself this morning as I tried one of my newly created hats on, only to discover a pin sewn in the band. Like mother, like daughter!

Since we are a part of Santacon, Saturday December 15th, we will be open until 8pm. Perfect night for some late Christmas shopping. I will have the spiced, apple~cranberry cider brewing for you.

Cheers!
crazy CHR hat 1 crazy CHR hat 2 crazy CHR hat 3 crazy CHR hat 4 crazy CHR hat 6 crazy CHR hat 7 crazy CHR hat 8 522668_533950256616151_1106615200_n

Categories: Holidays, Our boutique

1 comment

  1. Dang girl…you are so darn clever. Once again I will miss a downtown function. You may not know that my Tim was in the hospital again over Thanksgiving…major blood clots in his lungs. Home and doing okay…they just have to dissolve themselves.
    Merry Christmas to you, your hubby and Sunny!
    love, Sharon Richardson

Leave a Reply

